Luck is in the eye of the beholder


Maneki Neko by henry_azui - www.sxc.hu/profile/henry_azui

Last week was a lucky week for me, so I thought this week was bound to be a bit of a let down.

Hold on, is that pessimistic or what?

I really don’t deserve nice things to happen to me if I view a week where I may not get what I want as a let down.

This all started because I won a Blog writing competition on the Strictly Writing website and also a free copy of ‘Crossed Wires’ by Rosy Thornton, from the same site.

I’ve always had this idea I wasn’t lucky and to be honest I quite liked that idea. I don’t need luck, I make the effort to do things for myself.

So I’d convinced myself I never won things and to reinforce that belief I, well you guessed it, never entered things. Talk about self-fulfilling prophecy.

So, am I lucky?

Well I’m healthy (could lose a few pounds, ahem, but the weighing scales went from the house years ago so who’s counting, or weighing?)
I live with a wonderful partner. I have enough money to keep a roof over my head and I’m not starving, (see note above). I get to do the things I like. I have loving family and friends. I am safe.

It’s so easy to spend your time trying to get the next thing on your life list and forgetting about what you already have.

So who’s lucky?

I am.

Every day.

4 Comments on “Luck is in the eye of the beholder”

  1. Jane says:

    I don’t think you’re lazy – when you get The Idea, you’ll know and writing 30 to 50 000 words won’t seem so onerous. One of the things I do is teach creative writing at the OU and rather a lot of my students want to run before they’ve walked. There’s nothing wrong with ambition but sometimes you need to find your voice by writing smaller pieces before embarking on the big novel.

    • Gary Wilson says:

      Thanks for that Jane. It is good advice and like I said, I feel as though I’m crawling at the moment, never mind walking.

      Oh, I’m still a lazy bugger though. Ask my partner!

  2. Fee says:

    Dear Gary,

    You are not lazy. Inspiration is what you need and then a whole story will unfold before your very eyes.

    I was encouraged to post some poetry on poetry street and have some words of encouragement. So I am now getting spurred on to get my book out there.

    You have to start a long journey with little steps.

    Best wishes and good luck

    Fee


Leave a Reply

