No Rhyme nor Reason (To me)


Stone book by patkisha - http://www.sxc.hu/profile/patkisha

I got paid this week. Yahoo!

So I decided to treat myself and go into Waterstones in Cambridge and buy some books.

They have a 3 for 2 offer on at the mo so I picked myself three books (you can see what I got on the sidebar.) I also bought Simon Armitage’s Selected Poems. Now this wasn’t on offer and cost me £9.99. The other books all had original prices of between £7.99 and £8.99.

I didn’t mind that. I like Simon’s work and I’d already got some bargains but it struck me that I’ve never seen poetry books on any offers in the High Street. (The one exception being Borders but they were closing down so it doesn’t count.)

But why is poetry priced at such a premium?

I’m sure that someone could come up with all sorts of costings as to why they charge at least £2 more for a book half the thickness. One being, I suppose, that they don’t sell many so they have to charge more to make a profit from the print run.

But then Amazon have all these books on offer so maybe it’s the cost of the shop space, leases, rates etc. But if that’s the case, how can they do 3 for 2 offers?

So I’m looking from the punters point of view. There ain’t no bargains to be had with poetry on the High Street, that’s my conclusion.

Seems a shame. They have book offers to encourage people to buy more books.

Poetry could do with that … and I might just save a couple of quid.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.